top of page

Dying for a Living Series

a contemporary fantasy series


On the morning before her 67th death, it is business as usual for agent Jesse Sullivan: meet with the mortician, counsel soon-to-be-dead clients, and have coffee while reading the latest regeneration theory. Jesse dies for a living, literally. Because of a neurological disorder, she is one of the population's rare 2% who can serve as a death surrogate, dying so others don't have to. 


Although each death replacement is different, the result is the same: a life is saved, and Jesse resurrects days later with sore muscles, new scars, and another hole in her memory. But when Jesse is murdered and becomes the sole suspect in a federal investigation, more than her freedom and sanity are at stake. She must catch the killer herself—or die trying.

Check out the first installment in this "supernaturally fantastic" "thrill ride."

This series is seven books long (available individually and in boxed sets) and is complete. 

Shadows in the Water Series

a supernatural thriller series


"Lou's smart and adept...and her gift makes her a formidable opponent to her enemies." -Kirkus Reviews

When DEA agent Jack Thorne's house is stormed by vengeful drug lords, both he and his wife are shot dead. Only his daughter Louie survives--by using a terrifying power that defies reason.

Piecing together a life in his absence, Louie embraces her gift and her rage under the force of a single need: revenge.

She will destroy the men that took her family. No matter the cost, no matter how many bullets, she won't stop until justice has been well and truly served.

This series is currently eleven books long (available individually and in box sets), and is ongoing.  

Welcome to Castle Cove Series

a supernatural suspense series


Do you want a story you can control?

When marketing expert Baltimore is dumped by her fiancé of three years, she longs for escape. Hoping for a fresh start, she takes a job in Castle Cove, a seemingly perfect town nestled between beautiful pine forests and the sea. Then she meets a beautiful man (or two) and her new life really looks promising....


Only Castle Cove isn't what it seems.

Each choice you make as you read this interactive novel will reveal Castle Cove's secrets and dark history. But beware: you can find adventure, power, romance, or monsters within these pages.

This series is currently two books long and is ongoing.

The City Series - 2603 Novels

a science fiction mystery series


It's 2603, in a post-­climate change world.

Commander Grace Buteo protects Zone 2, a prosperous place, thriving in part due to her diligent efforts to guard its citizens against cyber-attacks, identity theft, and security threats from the rogue terrorist cells plaguing the outermost districts.


But when her husband and son are killed in an IED explosion intended for Grace herself, her guilt nearly breaks her. She throws herself into her work, hoping to renew her sense of purpose and loyalty to the city she loves.


She’s given the opportunity when a high­ profile genetic engineering company reports the theft of 26 artificial organs. But investigating this theft leads Grace to discover that her city ­­and her new assistant inspector­­ may not be as perfect as they seem…

This series is currently three books long and is complete.

Jack and the Fire Eater

a fantasy action adventure


A Victorian city riddled with magic. A mortal with magical abilities. The demon who wants to own his soul. Find truth, love, and revenge in this imaginative and engrossing tale.


Two days ago, Jack Siran’s biggest concerns were his impending arranged marriage and whether or not he would succeed in seducing his magical rival, Lord Silver, before the horrid marriage took place.


But when Lord Silver finally comes calling, he isn’t alone. He brings with him a demon who murders everyone in its path and burns Jack’s house to the ground.  And now the demon wants Jack’s magic.


Jack knows that even with his abilities, he is no match for a full-fledged demon, let alone the talented conjurer who summoned him. If Jack wants to survive, he must sell his soul to Fire, a lady demon of ill-repute, in exchange for her powerful aid and protection.


Jack and the Fire Eater is a standalone novel perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic.

Blade Born: A Borderlands Novel

a fantasy action adventure


One young woman tries to save the world—or at least, the person she loves the most—from demons, old magic, family secrets, and cutthroat witches fighting for political power.


Amelia Bishop is the last witch born to a powerful house. Raised by her kooky aunts, in a world where demons hunt witches for their magic, it’s the responsibility of the strongest magic-wielders to fight the beasts who dare cross the border between Earth and Hell. Hunters like Amelia are made more powerful still when they bind their magic with a demonkeeper, a fighter with the power to contain and suppress demonic energy. A formidable alliance—except that Amelia refuses to forge such a bond.


There’s only one fate for a demonkeeper: execution by the very witch who fought by their side, when the keeper is inevitably overtaken by the demons they sought to contain. This is the future Amelia is trying to avoid at all costs. She is determined to save her best friend Alex Laveau from such a fate.


But while Amelia searches for Alex’s salvation, another powerful witch family—strong hunters, all of them—is murdered in their beds. Was it demons? The fey? A political rival? Or something they’ve never seen…


If you love magic, mayhem, and fairytale retellings, you’ll love this urban fantasy take on the Persephone-Hades myth. Dive right in and lose yourself the enchanting world of The Borderlands.

Who Killed My Mother? 

3d cover.png

a true crime memoir

Two phone calls. One death. 

This is a true story.


On July 4, 2020 Kory received two phone calls. One from her uncle, saying her mother was found dead in her bedroom from an overdose. A second from a homicide detective saying he believes it was murder—and her uncle is the suspect.

USA TODAY bestselling author Kory M. Shrum makes her foray into nonfiction with this deeply vulnerable memoir. This is a true story about her mother's sudden tragic death under suspicious circumstances, and the tumultuous childhood she shared with her mentally-ill mother. 


But above all, it's about her discovery that no matter how deep the wounds, redemption and forgiveness are always possible even after death

Thirst: new and collected stories

a vampire fiction collection


From bestselling author Kory M. Shrum, a vampire anthology for the centuries. Drink up these nine novellas and short stories and indulge in a world where darkness and desire intertwine, where immortal beings roam, and where the line between good and evil blurs.​

Prepare to be spellbound by this collection of genre-bending vampire tales that encompasses themes of love, survival, and the eternal struggle between the light and darkness within each of us. 

Read the full descriptions for each story here.

bottom of page